# SOLAR PRO.

### **British Indian Ocean Territory c**

When was the British Indian Ocean Territory established?

Formerly administered as part of the British Crown Colony of Mauritius, the British Indian Ocean Territory (BIOT) was established as an overseas territory of the UK in 1965. A number of the islands in the territory were later transferred to the Seychelles when it gained independence in 1976.

What is British Indian Ocean territory (Biot)?

They write new content and verify and edit content received from contributors. British Indian Ocean Territory (BIOT), overseas territory of the United Kingdom in the central Indian Ocean, established in 1965. Since 1976 it has been coterminous with the Chagos Archipelago.

How is the British Indian Ocean territory governed?

The constitutional arrangements for BIOT are set out in the British Indian Ocean Territory (Constitution) Order 2004 and related instruments. The Territory is administered from London, by a Commissioner appointed by The Queen, who is assisted by a Deputy Commissioner and Administrator.

Is there a native population in the British Indian Ocean territory?

There is no native population the islands. BIOT is constitutionally distinct and separate from the UK, with its own laws and Administration. The constitutional arrangements for BIOT are set out in the British Indian Ocean Territory (Constitution) Order 2004 and related instruments.

How many islands are in the British Indian Ocean territory?

Map of the British Indian Ocean Territory since 1976. The territory is an archipelago of 58 islandscovering 56 square kilometres (22 sq mi). The largest island is Diego Garcia, which at 32.5 square kilometres (12.5 sq mi) accounts for about half of the territory's total land area.

What is the British Indian Ocean territory (Constitution) Order 2004?

The British Indian Ocean Territory (Constitution) Order 2004 defines the territory as comprising the following islands or groups of islands: These islands and associated coral reefs lie between 4°44 and 7°41 south and 70°47 and 72°47 east.

British Indian Ocean Territory (BIOT), overseas territory of the United Kingdom in the central Indian Ocean. It was established in 1965. Since 1976 it has been coterminous with the islands of the Chagos Archipelago.

The British Indian Ocean Territory (BIOT) lies about 1,770km east of Mahe (the main island of the Seychelles). The territory, an archipelago of 58 islands sometimes referred to as the Chagos Archipelago, covers some 640,000 sq km of ocean. The islands have a land area of only 60 sq km and 698km of coastline.

Established as a territory of the UK in 1965, a number of the British Indian Ocean Territory (BIOT) islands

## SOLAR PRO.

### **British Indian Ocean Territory c**

were transferred to the Seychelles when it attained independence in 1976, leaving only the six main island groups comprising the Chagos Archipelago of 2,300 islands. The largest and southernmost of the 58 islands, Diego Garcia, contains a joint UK-US naval support facility.

El Territorio Británico del Océano Índico o Islas Británicas de Chagos (en inglés: British Indian Ocean Territory, BIOT, o British Chagos Islands, BCI) [2] [3] comprende unas sesenta islas tropicales, incluido el archipiélago de Chagos en el océano Índico, a mitad de camino entre África e Indonesia.Es una colonia insular muy fuertemente militarizada con el estatus de territorio ...

TAKE NOTICE that, at 10am UK time on Friday 17 May 2024, the British Indian Ocean Territory Court of Appeal will hear, in open court, an application for special leave/permission to appeal, with appeal to follow if granted, in the matter of The Commissioner v The King (on the application of VT & Ors) [2024] BIOT CA (Civ) 1. The time estimate for ...

The British Indian Ocean Territory (BIOT) comprises some 2300 tropical islands of the Chagos Archipelago in the Indian Ocean, about one-half the way from Africa to Indonesia, around 6°S, 71°30"E is an Overseas Territory of the United Kingdom (UK). Diego Garcia, the largest and southernmost island, occupies a strategic location in the central Indian Ocean and ...

British Indian Ocean Territory. The British Indian Ocean Territory is an overseas territory of the United Kingdom that was established on November 8, 1965, and is strategically positioned in the heart of the Indian

On 3 October 2024, the UK and Mauritian governments announced they had reached an agreement on the sovereignty of the British Indian Ocean Territory (BIOT), also known as the Chagos Archipelago. Negotiations began in November 2022 under the government of Rishi Sunak.. This briefing focuses on the October 2024 agreement between the UK and Mauritius, ...

6. MR CALLUM COWX to be Acting Judge of the British Indian Ocean Territory Supreme Court with effect from 18 December 2023, under Section 7 of the British Indian Ocean Territory (Constitution) Order 2004 and section 9A(1) of the Courts Ordinance 1983. 7. MS MARGARET OBI to be Acting Judge of the British Indian Ocean Territory

The constitutional arrangements for BIOT are set out in the British Indian Ocean Territory (Constitution) Order 2004 and related instruments. The 2004 Order gives the Commissioner power to make laws for the peace, order and good ...



### **British Indian Ocean Territory c**

Revised Ordinances of BIOT - Chapter C. The Firearms Ordinance 1970 C.1; The Penal Code 1981 C.2; The Prisons Ordinance 1981 C.3; The Explosives Ordinance 1984 C.4; The Misuse of Drugs Ordinance 1992 C.5; The Police and Criminal Evidence Ordinance 2019 C.6; The Criminal Justice (Conditional Cautions) Ordinance 2019 C.7; The Criminal Procedure ...

Web: https://www.ecomax.info.pl

