

Beyonder as French Southern Territories

What are the French Southern and Antarctic Lands (TAAF)?

The French Southern and Antarctic Lands (TAAF) are at the heart of these ambitions. Made up of five districts - the Crozet archipelago, the Kerguelen Islands, Saint-Paul and Amsterdam, the Éparses Islands and Adélie Land - these territories are nevertheless one of the ultra-marine collectivities that are least well known to the general public.

What is the French Southern Territories?

The territory is sometimes referred to as the French Southern Lands (French: Terres australes françaises) or the French Southern Territories,usually to emphasize non-recognition of French sovereignty over Adélie Land as part of the Antarctic Treaty System. The entire territory has no known permanently settled inhabitants.

Why are the French Southern & Antarctic Lands subject to an original form of governance?

These characteristics explain why these territories are subject to an original form of governance. The French Southern and Antarctic Lands include uninhabited territories in the Indian and Southern Oceans. Image: TAAF

What is the French Southern Territories nature reserve?

In 2006,the French Southern Territories Nature Reserve was created around the Crozet archipelago and the Kerguelen,Saint-Paul and Amsterdam islands. This reserve,which by 2022 will cover an area of 1.6 million km2, is one of the largest marine protected areas in the worldand has been a UNESCO World Heritage Site since 2019.

Does France have territorial sovereignty over the Éparses Islands?

Although France's claim to the three austral lands (Kerguelen,Saint-Paul and Amsterdam and Crozet) is no longer contested, it is facing two major challenges to its claimto territorial sovereignty over the Éparses islands.

Is TAAF a French territory?

French Southern and Antarctic Lands (Terres Australes et Antarctiques Françaises or TAAF); overseas territory of France(since 1956). It is currently the only overseas territory. According to law 2007-224 of 21 February 2007,the Scattered Islands in the Indian Ocean constitute the 5th district of TAAF.

The French Southern and Antarctic Lands (TAAF) are at the heart of these ambitions. Made up of five districts - the Crozet archipelago, the Kerguelen Islands, Saint-Paul and Amsterdam, the Éparses Islands and Adélie Land - these territories are nevertheless one of the ultra-marine collectivities that are least well known to the general ...

The French Southern and Antarctic Territories are formed by the Crozet archipelago, the Kerguelen Islands,



Beyonder as French Southern Territories

the Saint Paul Islands and Amsterdam, the Adelie land and the Scattered ...

Overseas France (French: France d"outre-mer, also France ultramarine) [note 3] consists of 13 French territories outside Europe, mostly the remnants of the French colonial empire that remained a part of the French state under various statuses after decolonisation.

The French Southern and Antarctic Territories are formed by the Crozet archipelago, the Kerguelen Islands, the Saint Paul Islands and Amsterdam, the Adelie land and the Scattered Islands (since the law of 21 February 2007). The latter bring together the tropical islands of the Glorious Archipelago, Juan de Nova, Europa and Bassas da India in ...

The French Southern and Antarctic Territories is a French overseas territory consisting of Adélie Land in coastal Antarctica and several islands in the southern Indian Ocean: the Crozet Islands, the Kerguelen Islands, Amsterdam Island and Île Saint-Paul. The territory was created on 6 August 1955, before which all were dependencies of Madagascar.

The French Southern and Antarctic Lands are an overseas territory of France that consist of the following: Adélie Land (Terre Adélie): This is the French claim on the continent of Antarctica . Crozet Islands (Îles Crozet): A group of islands in the ...

The French Southern and Antarctic Lands (French: Terres australes et antarctiques françaises, TAAF), in full the Territory of the French Southern and Antarctic Lands (French: Territoire des Terres australes et antarctiques françaises) is an overseas territory (French: Territoire d"outre-mer or TOM) of France. It consists of:

Web: https://www.ecomax.info.pl

